Medicare + Fraud, Waste And Abuse (FWA) Training

Available in English and Spanish

Receive a rigorous training in the basics of Medicare, CMS guidelines, plan options, marketing, and enrollment requirements.

What You’ll Learn


  • The basics of Medicare fee-for-service eligibility and benefits
  • The different types of Medicare Advantage and Part D prescription drug plans
  • Eligibility and coverage
  • Marketing and enrollment under the Medicare Advantage and Part D program requirements

Fraud, Waste, & Abuse (FWA)

  • How to identify FWA
  • An overview of the industry efforts in detecting fraud
  • Legal tools to combat FWA
  • Understand both the human and financial cost of FWA
  • Review CMS FWA training requirements
  • Who commits FWA
  • Reporting FWA; loopholes and obligations

Who Should take this Course:

  • Sales and marketing personnel
  • Agents and brokers
  • Health insurance plan sponsors and staff
  • Financial planners


$175.00 AHIP Members; $175.00 Non-members

The fee for this online course includes online enrollment and testing, plus the following features:

  • Information written and organized for easy assimilation
  • Examples throughout to clarify key concepts and show how general principles work in practice
  • Focused review questions and multiple choice self-assessment quizzes that highlight important points and engage you in active learning and retention
  • Access to course content 24/7
  • Continuing education (CE) credits

To enroll in a course, or purchase a text book, please log in, and browse our online catalog. If you are a new user, please register for an account to get started.

Earn a Designation

Fellow, Health Insurance Advanced Studies (FHIAS)

States with CE approval for Medicare + Fraud, Waste & Abuse Training (number of CE credits and costs vary by state)

State # CEs
Alabama 6
Arizona 6
Arkansas 6
California 6
Colorado 6
Connecticut 6
DC 6
Delaware 6
Florida 6
Georgia 4
Hawaii 6
Idaho 6
Illinois 6
Indiana 6
Iowa 6
Kansas 6
Kentucky 5
Louisiana 6
Maine 6
Maryland 6
Massachusetts 6
Michigan 6
Minnesota 6
Mississippi 6
Missouri 6
Montana 6
Nebraska 4
Nevada 6
New Hampshire 6
New Jersey 3
New Mexico 6
North Carolina 6
North Dakota 6
Ohio 6
Oklahoma 6
Oregon 6
Pennsylvania 6
Rhode Island 6
South Carolina 6
South Dakota 6
Tennessee 6
Texas 8
Utah 6
Vermont 6
Virginia 6
Washington 4
West Virginia 6
Wisconsin 6
Wyoming 6